BOHOL, PHILIPPINES

Bohol is the perfect destination if ever you’re in the mood for a quick day trip or an overnight staycation!

Just a two hour ferry ride from the city of Cebu, we ventured off early in the morning to get our day started (7am to be exact).

Luckily, my mom’s friend back in high school, Robert, lived just an hour away from the ferry pier (Tagbilaran). He himself is a tour guide, so he was kind enough to take us around for the day in his car for PHP 3,500 (HKD 546.62). If you’re looking to rent a car or have a driver take you around, here are some websites that you could look through and compare prices: Bohol Rent a Car and Bohol Travel Buddy

There were additional tourist stops prior to what I’m about to talk about, which were the Blood Compact Shrine and the Baclayon Church and Museum. Although, I didn’t document them as I’m not too much of a Philippine history enthusiast.

So, the next stop after the church was the Loboc River Cruise. For just PHP 450/person (HKD 70.30 – child rates specified on their website), you get to witness the beauty of the Loboc river (which reminded me of the cliché jungle/forest inspired Hollywood movie) , but you also get to dine while you’re at it! By the way… it’s buffet style.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with e3 preset

Of course during lunch hours, lines get long. We got there at around 11:30am, so it was still quite empty and we got to enjoy our lunch in peace.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

Other than trees and water, locals set up amazing performances on the sides of the river!

Processed with VSCO with e3 preset

Processed with VSCO with se3 preset

Processed with VSCO with se3 preset

After a delightful afternoon, it was time… for… zip lining.

I for one have never zip lined before. One, I’m terrified of heights. Two, I’m terrified of heights. This particular zip line was 420 meters in length and 120 meters in height which spreads across the Loboc river.

Processed with VSCO with nc preset

To be honest, my one motivation for actually getting strapped in was “DO IT FOR THE VLOG”. And so, I did.

It was one of the most exhilarating experiences I’ve ever been in. Absolutely surreal, and the view was breathtaking. I was honestly so proud of myself for holding my gopro so steady (probably out of fear and shock that I couldn’t move my hands).

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

After the once in a life time experience (literally), we headed up to the Tarsiers!

If you’ve never seen a Tarsier in person, just know I had to zoom in real close to get these photos. Baby tarsiers are the size of your thumb, and these ones are just a little bit older. They’re the most delicate and fragile creatures that they only have a lifespan of 2 to 12 years. Sadly, you’re not allowed to hold or touch them because they’re so fragile that by one touch it could frighten them and cause them to die (yup).

Just around the corner was the Habitat Conservation Butterfly Centre.

Processed with VSCO with nc preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with nc preset

It was quite the interesting place, but I was so desperate to see the Chocolate Hills!

Thankfully, all of the main tourist spots in Bohol are quite close by which makes it so convenient and easily accessible. From the Habitat Centre, the hills were just a 30 minute drive away.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with e1 preset

Processed with VSCO with e1 preset

No surprise, there were a ton of tourists. But, once I got to get a full view and appreciate what I was looking at… it was insanely stunning. I can’t stress to you enough how much I love being away from tall skyscrapers, the indecisive weather and being shoved by rude people who are too busy to say excuse me or sorry because their eyes are glued to their devices (that’s Hong Kong for you).

Though being in Bohol just for a day may seem short, it was an experience I can never forget.

Stay tuned for my next adventure! (Hint: Cheese and Chocolate)

-Pau

Leave a Reply

