BEHIND THE SCENES – THE STRAND

Life is full of surprises, isn’t it?

When I was in High School, I was set on the idea that I was going to be a special education teacher. However, never in my whole life would I have imagined taking photos behind the scenes for a charity fashion show here in Hong Kong.

So, currently I’m an intern for a Marketing consultant. My internship includes photography and writing. I’ve done some work on the side with the guidance of another photographer, but my boss asked me to take some behind the scenes photos for a beauty salon called The Strand. The Strand provided their hair and makeup team for a Charity Fashion Show by WatchDog that took place at the Aberdeen Marina Club.

I arrived at the venue on my own feeling a little bit nervous because it was my first time being at a fashion show, let alone taking behind the scenes photos surrounded by experienced models and stylists. Naturally, I was feeling intimidated. My boss reminded me though to just do my own thing and just have fun with it. Thankfully this fashion show was small and consisted of eight models, which is nothing compared to 30 models running around with dozens of artists during a regular fashion show.

The atmosphere in the room was chill. Everyone did their own thing, from the hairstylists blow drying/curling the models’ hair and from the makeup artists creating their masterpiece on the models’ face. The models were so tall! I’ve never felt that short ever since I was in primary school. On the other hand, they were all so gorgeous. The Strand team did an amazing job with every single one of them.

I’m really looking forward to more shoots in the future and I can’t wait to share my experiences with you all.

And without further adieu, here are the photos!

 Dream big guys! You’ll never know where your career path takes you.

Leave a Reply

